Other General

Welcome Bernadine Houle-Steinhauer, Post Secondary Director


Bernadine Houle-Steinhauer
Saddle Lake Post-Secondary Director

My name is Bernadine Houle-Steinhauer and I am your new Saddle Lake Post-Secondary Director as of May 7, 2012. I was raised in our community, the daughter of Eugene and Lorraine Houle, granddaughter of the late Joseph and Roseanna Houle. I am very excited to be joining the Saddle Lake Education Authority team and working with our community members to assist in the advancement of post-secondary education.

My own educational journey started with attending our local school, a couple of years prior to Onchaminahos School being built. I attended both on and off-reserve schools throughout elementary, junior and senior high. I then went on to attend the University of Alberta, graduating with as Bachelor of Arts; majoring in Economics. I went off to work in the Oil and Gas industry’s corporate offices in Calgary for three years before returning to Edmonton.  I decided to attend Grant MacEwan Community College and earned a Public Relations diploma in 1998. Throughout that time I received amazing financial and emotional support from the staff at Saddle Lake Post-Secondary.

I moved back home after I graduated and went to work at our locally owned post-secondary institution, Blue Quills First Nations College for the next 13 years as the Special Projects Director. I am a firm believer in life-long education and understand the challenges our students face when they decide to pursue their studies. I continue to be a part-time student in the first ever Master of Education cohort jointly delivered between Blue Quills and the University of Alberta.

It is difficult juggling the demands of family, work and school but once again I have the incredible support of my family, the guidance of my instructors and the understanding of my employer. I am the proud mom of two little men ages 9 and 6 and I will be celebrating 17 years of marriage to my husband next month.

I know I am blessed with many wonderful people in my life who have influenced my choices and decisions. I am so proud of our community’s accomplishments and encourage you all to continue in your educational journey.  I hope you all experience the fulfillment and rewards inherent in new learnings.

Well that’s a little bit about me, I  look forward to meeting you all as I become acquainted with my new role and responsibilities.

Ay ay

